THE FEDERATION OF BANK OF INDIA OFFICERS' ASSOCIATIONS

(REGD.No.7364)

Regd.Office: Bank of India Bldgs., 70-80, M.G.Road, Mumbai – 400 023.





Resi: 011-23822211

E-mail: fboioa@yahoo.co.in.

Circular No.2012/ 29 Dated: 05/11/2012

Dear Comrades,

MRS. VIJAYALAKSHMI R. IYER IS OUR BANK'S CHAIRPERSON

Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Rajaram Iyer has been appointed as Chairperson of our Bank. Notification to the effect has been issued by Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance today. She has taken charge of her new assignment immediately after the notification by joining at our Head Office. Prior to joining our Bank, she was Executive Director of Central Bank of India, the post she adorned since 1st September, 2010.

Mrs. Iyer was born on 01/06/1955. After completing her post Graduation in Commerce, she joined the services of Union Bank of India in December 1975 and acquired the professional qualification of CAIIB immediately after joining the Bank. Before she rose to the highest position of General Manager of Union Bank on 01/10/2008, she successfully accomplished many challenging assignments in her carrier of 34 years in Union Bank of India which included 12 years in Branch Banking, 15 years in Credit Department and the remaining 7 years in Risk Management and Information Technology Departments. At the time of her nomination as Executive Director of Central Bank of India, she was holding charge of MSME Department in Union Bank of India. We extend our warm welcome to her in Bank of India and wishfully hope that our Bank will perform to the utmost satisfaction of all stake holders under her Leadership.

Com. Shekhar Kadam, Working President of our Federation, Com. M.B. Tripathi, President of our Mumbai & Goa Unit and Com. Aruna Agnihotri welcomed Mrs. Iyer at Head Office on behalf of our Federation by presenting floral bouquet to her.

1st GENERAL BODY MEETING OF BOIPARA, JHARKHAND UNIT HELD AT RANCHI

First General Body meeting of Bank of India Pensioners' & Retirees' Association, Jharkhand Unit was held at Ranchi on 4th November, 2012. The undersigned was invited as Chief Guest on the occasion. Meeting was attended by more than 140 members from Dhanbad, Hazaribad, Jamshedpur and Ranchi. Com. Tara Kant Choudhary, a veteran trade unionist presided over the meeting. Sh. Trilochan Singh, Zonal Manager of Ranchi Zone, Com. S.K. Pathak, State Secretary of AlBOC and your General Secretary were on dais with unit leaders.

Comrade Alexender Minz, Chairman of the Reception Committee welcomed the guest and members. Smt Metali Ghosh, a renowned singer in her melodious voice presented National song and welcome song-Swagtam. The Zonal Manager-Sh. Trilochan Singh and Sh. S.K. Pathak in their messages wished for the well being of all pensioners and retirees and conveyed their best wishes for the First General Body Meeting.

In his address, the undersigned recalled the contribution of Com. D. Sengupta in the trade union movement in general and in the welfare of officers' movement in Bihar & Jharkhand. He expressed his happiness in announcing that Jharkhand unit of BOIPARA is one of the best organized and functional unit of the Federation. He also dwelled upon the need for organizing the Pensioners and Retirees under the banner of AIBOC and the background of the decision of AIBOC to form AIBPARC. He explained in detail the demand of Pensioners and Retirees which are incorporated in Part IV of Charter of Demands, submitted by the officers' organizations.

Sh. Debashish Sengupta, General Secretary of the unit presented his report on the activities of the unit which was approved with some deliberations. Statement of Accounts was unanimously approved. A new team lead by Com. A.J. Minz as President, Com. Debashish Sengupta as General Secretary and Com. N.K. Shahi was elected and resumed the office.

FOUNDATION CONFERENCE OF AIBPARC (JHARKHAND STATE UNIT)

Foundation Conference of All India Bank Pensioners' & Retirees' Confederation, Jharkhand State Unit was held in Ranchi on 04.11.2012 at 3.00 PM. Conference was inaugurated by Sri S. R. Sengupta, Jt. Convener of All India Banks Pensioners' & Retirees' Confederation. One hundred thirty retirees from different retirees' Association, alongwith leaders of different affiliates of AIBOC were present in the meeting.

While delivering his inaugural address, Com. S.R. Sengupta gave an account of History of the Bank Officers' movement, particularly with the reference of role of AIBOC & UFBU in consolidating the officers' movement in the industry. He detailed the background and situation under which AIBOC took a decision in the triennial conference at Bhubaneshwar to organise the pensionersn & retirees of the Banking Industry under the banner of AIBOC. Accordingly, Foundation Conference of All India Banks' Pensioners' & Retirees' Confederation was held on 17th March, 2012 in Nagpur. Conference formed an adhoc committee and gave direction for the formation of State/Dist. Units in line with serving officers' organisation. Affiliates were directed to form federation of the Pensioners/retirees in their respective Banks. He added that in this process of implementation of those guidelines, Jharkhand Unit is establishing its Unit. He expressed his happiness for the members of the Jharkhand Unit for the same. He said that it will be our responsibility to ensure 100% membership. Members are having lot of hopes & aspirations and we must strive hard to come up to their expectation. He informed the House that All India Bank Pensioners' & Retirees' Confederation will hold its first Conference at Delhi on 25.11.2012 when an elected body will assume charge of AIBPARC.

Conference was also greeted by the leadership of different affiliates of AIBOC. A new team under the leadership of Com. N.K. Sinha as President, Debashis Sengupta as General Secretary & Com. N.K. Shahi as Treasurer was constituted for the period 2012-2015.

FOUNDATION CONFERENCE & IST GENERAL BODY MEETING OF BOIPARA, PUNE UNIT

Foundation Conference and 1st General Body meeting of Bank of India Pensioners' & Retirees' Association, Pune Unit was held today on 4th November,2012 in Pune. It was attended by over 210 members. Com. N.K.Joshi - the senior member (Retired General Manager and former General Secretary Vidarbha Unit of BOIOA) presided over the Conference. Dy. General Manager & the Zonal Manager Pune Zone was the Guest at the Inaugural function. After adoption of the Convener's report, statement of Accounts and the Constitution of the Unit, following office office-bearers were unanimously elected.

Com. P.S.Patki - President

Com. M.J.Mujawar - Working President,

Com. R. Sangam - General Secretary

Com. A.K.Ponkshe - Vice- President

Com D.M. Sarode - Treasurer

Com. S.S. Kamble - DY. Gen Secretary & 6 members of the Executive Committee

With warm greetings,

Yours sincerely,

(HARVINDER SINGH)
GENERAL SECRETARY